The Power of the U-LOCK

“Lock ‘er up”! The most important tool you’ll need with any bike it a nice, strong u-lock. I emphasize on the word U-Lock, because its not just any lock. The u-lock is a strong steel lock used to lock your bike, along with any other bike parts like the wheels, to poles and bike racks. This is the best kind of lock to invest in, mainly because of its strength, there is no way to cut through the lock.

I learned this the hard way. When I first got my bike stolen from downtown the lock I had was one of the long tube/wirey locks that wrap around the bike and the pole. So whoever stole my bike must of cut through the lock. Another incident happened recently where I locked my bike up attaching the u-lock the back wheel of my tire and the pole and my front tire got stolen, instead of the whole bike. Bikes are expensive and new parts are even more expensive so these types of locks are vital for everyday use.

So maybe even investing in two u-locks would be helpful.Or for you fixie riders, one can have a wrench and unscrew the front wheel and lock it up with the backwheel and pole. Stolen bike parts are are more prevalent for fixies rather than beach cruisers, because fixie parts are more expensive and easier to take apart than a big one piece beach cruiser bike. Whenever and wherever your riding riding you’ll need a lock in order to keep your bike safe, so please choose and pick wisely of your and where you lock your bike up at.

Happy Riding

Leave a comment